MS4/Stormwater Coalition

The Jefferson County Stormwater Coalition is composed of 9 municipal members and Jefferson County.

Created in 2014, the Coalition members are able to comply with the federal stormwater regulations and improve water quality in a cost-effective manner. At this time, the Coalition is funded through membership fees and grants.

The Coalition meets on a bi-monthly basis. Currently the Jefferson County Soil and Water Conservation District provides services to the Coalition and serves as the Stormwater Program Coordinator.

What is an MS4?

An MS4 is a Municipal Separate Storm Sewer System that is

A conveyance or system of conveyances owned by a State, City, Town, Village, or other public entity that discharges to the Waters of the United States and is:

  • Designed or used to collect or convey stormwater (includes gutters, pipes, ditches)
  • NOT a combined sewer
  • NOT part of a Publicly Owned Treatment Works (ie. sewage treatment plant)